The Things Moms Say

The Things Moms Say

My mom and I were sitting at the dining room table arguing about when it is appropriate to take out the trash (a worthwhile mother-daughter topic) when she got up and ended the argument by stating, “tu te crees mucho porque estas flaquita.”  Her attempt to end the debate by telling me I was full of myself because I am thin sent me into hysterics. 

I am neither thin, nor particularly arrogant.  And, if I am arrogant it isn’t because I’m now a size 12 and not the high end of 14 (as I was for the past few years).   My mom’s remark was a funny reminder of the things parents think about their offspring (ok, or maybe it’s just my mom and what she thinks of me).

© Laura Genao 2006

Leave a Reply

