Su Terreno

Su Terreno

My mom doesn’t own a car, or a home, or anything of real value, but she has a burial plot.  She scrimped and saved and bought it a few months after her heart attack a few years ago.

I find her pride in the purchase of this burial plot odd.  I guess she’s glad that we won’t be burdened with deciding on where she’ll be buried when she dies.  Or perhaps she’s just happy to know where her body will be laid to rest (near a tree on a grassy hill). 

Whatever the reason for her pride in being able to buy the burial plot, it creeps me out when she asks me to take her there to visit.  It’s a cemetery, not a park, and I’ll wait until I absolutely have to to see that place.

Leave a Reply

