A Dirty Bull

A Dirty Bull

Like I’ve said before, I’m a meat eater.  There is never too much meat on a plate for me.  Periodically, I try to give it up because of the strain it puts on the environment and my health, but after a day or so I get crabby and anything else becomes unsatisfying.  Short-term thinking gets the better of me, so I start having it again. 

But even I have red-meat limits.  I found one of them while reading the NYT today.  In that paper’s pages I came to learn about the Dirty Bull, a meat-flavored martini.

The article describes this drink for the decidedly non-vegetarian as:

[O]ne part vodka, one part olive brine and two parts bull, the last ingredient coming from the dose of veal stock that’s shaken into the drink as well as the garnish of house-made beef jerky that hangs on the rim of the glass. It is an excellent drink for junkie-level carnivores who cannot abide the fact that their pre-dinner martini is so … vegetarian. And probably, owing to its jolt of protein, a blue-ribbon restorative for a hangover. And maybe a decent soup. But definitely a good gimmick.

I’ll stick with carne asada, but for those more daring, the recipe below.

3 ounces vodka.

½ ounce olive brine.

1 teaspoon veal or beef stock.

Cured black olives, thyme sprig and beef jerky, for garnish (optional).

1. Add the liquid ingredients to an ice-filled cocktail shaker and shake 20 times. Strain into a chilled martini glass.

2. Garnish with the olives (speared on a toothpick), thyme sprig and jerky, if using.

Yield: 1 serving

4 thoughts on “A Dirty Bull

Leave a Reply

