A Dime Con Quien Andas Moment

A Dime Con Quien Andas Moment

In Spanish there is a phrase that says “Dime con quien andas y te dire quien eres.” It means, “Tell me who you run around with and I’ll tell you who you are.”  As Chavo has previously pointed out, it’s a line older relatives usually use to tell you you’re hanging with bad company. 

Today, my “Dime con quien andas” moment went like this.

I was walking down the hall chatting with one of those mero mero types.  I’m cracking some joke and he looks at me in all seriousness and says, “Hey, my wife and I were watching ‘American Gladiators’ the other night, and we were wondering if you know the one lady who was on there.  Her name’s ‘Bloom’ I think.  She plays football.  Girls’ football.”

I looked at him and said, “I don’t know if I’m more disturbed by the fact that you watch the show, or by the fact that you think it stars my friends.”

Yes, the indignance was feigned.  My friends and I have always had a healthy fascination with the show, but to my knowledge, none of them have ever been on the show. 

2 thoughts on “A Dime Con Quien Andas Moment

  1. It may reduce even the feigned indignance to know that the woman contestant who played football was a female lawyer from NY. Makes the request more legitimate, I think.

    If you and V want to go watch a taping, Dave and I would totally go with you. But you knew that already…

Leave a Reply

