United in Delay

United in Delay

At 3:44 a.m. yesterday, an e-mail arrived informing me that my 8 a.m. flight had been cancelled.  Two minutes later, I was rebooked onto a 12:44 p.m. flight.  Too bad my brain doesn’t have an inbox, because I didn’t see either of these messages until I was awakened by the alarm clock at 5 a.m. 

Because I had to be in D.C. for an evening meeting, the rebooked flight didn’t work and I found my way into an 8:30 a.m. flight.  All seemed good, until I tried to check in and there was no ticket for me.  Apparently, my travel agent thought “rebook the flight” meant “Reserve the seat, don’t book it.”  Argh!

A few calls later I was on my new flight.  When I found out my original flight’s cancellation was because of United’s maintenance inspections, I felt better about my morning’s travails.  “Better not to be on it if it’s not safe,” I consoled myself, as I boarded my new flight on American.   

The new flight even pulled away on time. 

Then it sat.

For 40 minutes.

Behind a plane that couldn’t seem to dislodge itself from the vehicle that had towed it away from the gate.

Guess United wasn’t the only one with maintenance issues that day.

Leave a Reply

