Solo Faltaba Un Cerillo

Solo Faltaba Un Cerillo

In 2004, my mother and I attended an event where Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger was speaking.  During his remarks, someone behind me jumped up and started yelling at the Governor.  The shouter was forcibly removed from the audience.  That event was the first, and the last, time my mother went to a political event.  In her mind, political events were becoming too dangerous.

Today, I was with my mother when we heard the news about Rep. Giffords shooting.  My mother, who is not particularly political commented, “Solo faltaba un cerillo.”

Her point was that today’s events herald the crossing of an unfortunate line in political discourse.  I felt fear too and hope that perhaps some of those leading political discourse shed tears over what we have lost.

Leave a Reply

