An Interesting Read

An Interesting Read

Over the past few months, I’ve had a few occasions on which to stop and help people in medical need or in need of protection.  On both occasions, I had an internal debate about “the right thing to do” in light of the potential threats to my own safety.  Ultimately, I chose to help because I want to live in a world where we help each other, and that if I’m not willing to stop and help, I can’t expect that anyone else will.  These recent experiences probably explain why I found the article, “The Tire Iron and the Tamale” among the more interesting things I read today.

2 thoughts on “An Interesting Read

  1. Wow. Great story. I kept thinking of the phrase, “que dios te lo pague.”

    I don’t think I’ve ever noticed who stops and who doesn’t. I’ve thankfully never been in a situation where I needed help and was far from home. When I’ve had car issues or accidents, my parents drove out anywhere from 5 minutes to an hour to help me.

  2. That is an interesting read. I’ve always noticed that when a car breaks down on the street the only people that help to push the car out to a better location are Latinos, I don’t know if they are immigrants or not. Even in wealthy neighborhoods I’ve seen the gardeners help to push fancy corvettes out the way while everyone else drives by. Must be that “I’ve been there” feeling.

Leave a Reply

