My Tiny Book Club

My Tiny Book Club

My mother and I have never read a book together.  She doesn’t really like reading and my literary tastes have never really aligned with hers.

I thought maybe Sonia Sotomayor’s book would give us some common ground, so I started it in English and bought it for her in Spanish.

I think she’s enjoying it so far, and I think she’ll really enjoy the part when Sotomayor starts to talk about her own mother’s history of arrival in the U.S.

The most interesting part of our attempt at a tiny mother-daughter book group–before she even started the book, she handed it to me and asked me to dedicate it to her.

I think she knows we’ll have some more of our own stories to reveal before we get to the end of “Mi Mundo Adorado.”

Leave a Reply

