Vacation

Vacation

I took my first trip to my father’s homeland this week.  It was an amazing journey, filled with tons of family stories unlike any I’d heard before.  During my trip, I ran across this quote from Gabriel Garcia Marquez at the Centro Leon in Santiago, Dominican Republic.  It kind of summed up how I felt about what I was hearing.

Yo nací y crecí en el Caribe. Lo conozco país por país, isla por isla, y tal vez de allí proviene mi frustración de que nunca se me ha ocurrido nada ni he podido hacer nada que sea más asombroso que la realidad.

Leave a Reply

